Breathe, Then Reread.

11911373_10206305219582657_126199755_n
“Sometimes there’s beauty in the tough words- it’s all in how you read them.”-Jennifer Niven

I have realised over time that it’s not what is said, it’s how you take it. The way people can talk to you, can scar. ‘Sticks and stones’ they say. Well I as are many, am tough. Poke me with a stick and I wont flinch. Call me fat, tell me I can’t do something, pick out my insecurities? That’s when you have got me.

The beauty in something tricky, something that has upset you, is the way in which you can just stop and take it in. Many have the ability to simply just brush off these things. And that’s okay. But, if like me you analyse the things that bother you until they swallow you up, things just are not that easy to ‘brush off’.

So, if you’re one of the people that just can’t forget James in year 3 call your handwriting “messy”, there are ways to deal with it. There are ways to grow from it. Granted, little James has no relevance to anything in your life right now. But if you stood back, and looked. Maybe, ‘messy’ was your unique.

You see, an opinion will only ever be an opinion. Someone’s ‘messy’ can be another’s beautiful. A flaw, is someone else’s favourite feature. If someone calls you chunky, take it as cuddly: words will only ever be words until you add some significance to them. Just take a moment and embrace the bad, grow from it, make it good.

Always find the rose in the thorn bush. The good within the bad.

8 thoughts on “Breathe, Then Reread.

  1. I used to let things like that bother me, then as I got older I suddenly stopped caring what others thought. Although it probably wasn’t a sudden thing, it was probably over a period of time. Sometimes it slips and someones opinion will dwell on me, but for the most part I know that I am not going to please everyone all the time and besides a lot of those opinion are THAT PERSONS opinion on how you should be, how they would like to dictate your outcome, that isn’t how it should be.

    Like

Leave a Reply

